Site Menu   


Soil and Water Board

Each Soil and Water District in North Carolina has its own five-person board of supervisors, made up of local community members. The board consists of three elected supervisors and two supervisors appointed by the governor. All supervisors must live within the district. The reason why conservation districts have local boards to oversee operations is because each district has unique conservation concerns. For instance, erosion and soil compaction are bigger issues in Cleveland County, with our rolling land and clay soils, than in eastern counties with flat, sandy soils. The Board of Supervisors oversees and works with the local staff at the conservation office to identify and address the conservation issues within the district. The board meets on the second Thursday of each month at the USDA Service Center at 844 Wallace Grove Road, Shelby, NC 28150. Meetings are open to the public.

Supervisors for the Cleveland County Soil and Water Board are Randy McDaniel, Sherri Greene, Ted Wortman, Roger Eaker, and Michael Underwood.

Cleveland County Soil and Water Board

Quick Links

  Cleveland County Home

  Cleveland County GIS

  Employment Opportunities

Facebook/Twitter Pages

Facebook Twitter